The Awakening

I'm slowly getting back into the swing of things.

I'm slowly getting back into the swing of things.

I’m often fascinated by those occasional news stories where someone wake up from a coma after a number of days/months/years. Not fascinated so much in a medical sense as I am at how that person mentally tries to catch up on what they have missed while they were “gone”.

I now have a slight idea of what that’s all about. Of course, I’m exaggerating a little (actually an enormous, almost insulting amount), but I have returned to the U.S. mainland in desperate need of a crash course on the last three weeks in the NBA. It makes it equally tough that this was the basically the first month of the season.

It’s hard to believe any sports league get ratings in Hawaii. After all, east coast games start at 2 pm Hawaii time and you’re at the beach. West coast games start at 5 pm and you’re eating tacos near the beach, or driving around the coast looking for a nice place to drink and have dinner, etc.

At first I thought about how great it would be to move to Maui and blog professionally. Then I realized why everyone who lives there basically holds a service job and spends the rest of their time in the water. It’s paradise and no amount of NBA action could shake me out of it. (Of course, this situation would have likely been different without my new bride, who may have been my ex-new bride if I ran home from the beach to watch the NBA on TNT at 4 pm).

Anyway, as expected, all my roto teams are basically in last place. Did you know Michael Redd missed 10 games?!?! I didn’t! My head-to-head teams, however, are holding their own. I have a lot of work to do in all the leagues to make up for lost time, but it actually makes it a bit more exciting.

As I get back into the groove, I’ll be posting more frequently than I was before my absence because there is no wedding planning to get in the way. The blog name and site design are going to stay for the rest of this season as I’ll be delaying any revamping until next year.

That is, if I continue the blog past this season. After all, if I can’t pull my teams into contention, I have no business doing the blog in the first place.

Mahalo, FBJ

2 Comments

Filed under Fantasy Team Analysis

2 responses to “The Awakening

  1. Dao

    welcome back =)

    how do you like the knicks trades….wish i drafted randolph right now haha

  2. WuMan

    Welcome back and hope you had great honeymoon.
    Looking forward to read more of your future posts.

Leave a Reply

